Home > Lyrics, Uncategorized > Sing us a song and we’ll sing it back to you.

Sing us a song and we’ll sing it back to you.

15 letters, 5 syllables, 6 vowels, and 9 consonants; who knew that they could take up so much time?
Vague as it may be, I’m sure that we’ve all experienced it, the sweet siren song of procrastination. I mean here I am, its 1:43AM, Saturday morning, I casually gaze out the common room window to see nothing but the bright white office buildings reflecting the glow from the lights at Dundas Square. There’s something about this moment that doesn’t quite seem right though, the sad thing about it is that I know exactly what’s wrong; I am about 7 hours and 15 minutes away from an exam that I SHOULD be furiously studying for.

One major problem seems to be that I’ve completely lost all motivation to do any work anymore. I find myself looking for something, ANYTHING to distract me at even the best of times. I’ve had this week to study for the two exams I have this weekend (one of which was completed yesterday), and I had planned to study 2 days solidly for each, however; something always seemed to come up just as I was to sit down to study. Such as a movie at 3 AM, which seemed like a good idea at the time, but in retrospect, only served to make me more tired for the next day’s worth of “studying”.

Even now, as I write this post, in the painstakingly slow manner I usually adhere to; I am putting off studying for something I am only half prepared for. For some reason I decided to see what new was happening on the blog that I have been on hiatus from for the last 8-odd months, it occurred to me that I should really post something to show that I am still an active contributor and that I actually made a commitment to post every so often. Yes; that took precedence over the work that I need to do to stay in my university program and end up with a future of some sort. I only have my own work ethic to blame for this, if there’s no push to do anything, I just won’t do it period. I’m sure that after writing this however I’ll have worked all the need to avoid my work out, but for the time being I really just seem to want to ramble on and on.

On that note, I guess it seems to be a good time to write a “school-year-in-review” post, considering my last post was during frosh week at the beginning of this school year. I did the school thing, not doing the best I can, again chalk it up to my work ethic. I’ll pass, but I’m taking a course in the spring, and pushing one onto next year. But in all honesty, I don’t see how much one more semester, or even year can hurt my direction in life, as long as I find the drive to keep at it, I’ll be fine. The courses have been challenging, but not impossible.

On the social aspect of the last 8 months, I can say that I have made friends that are extremely close to me, and that I’m going to miss the experience of living in residence. I even managed to find a girlfriend this year, which surprised even myself, and I’ve managed to not screw up royally yet, so I have a good feeling about how things are going. The friends I’ve made, have centered about my floor, and I don’t think that there is any animosity between any of them. It seems like we’re all a big family, who share our experiences, and even our feelings with one another if someone has the itch to share something that’s has been weighing heavily upon themselves. It’s almost like there has been a trust developed between us all due to the long, sleepless nights we’ve spent together studying, or even just doing nothing. While there’s not the extreme feeling of closeness you get when you go to high school and stay friends with the same people for all 4 years, I feel that living with these people certainly accelerated the friendship building process. So this year has overall been good, and I even have found a place to live next year, that’s not far away at all, so my horizon looks bright as can be.

Even as I turn around right now, I’ve got people here with me, some of which shouldn’t be up for any reason whatsoever, one who is also semi-studying, and one who is being kept here by force, due to us not letting her have her phone back. But I’ve never felt so at home, at a quarter past 2, in the common room, procrastinating my study time away.

All-nighters and I have become well acquainted over the year, it just seems like another night that we’ll spend getting even closer. Ah well, that just how it’ll be. Maybe now I’ll cut Hayley Williams’ beautiful voice resonating fro my iPod short and get some work done, then again I still have 6-ish hours left to study in, maybe I’ll find another way to waste some time.

Till next time everyone, adieu!


A typical night on pitman 6

Categories: Lyrics, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

