Home > Rants > Commercials

Commercials

This is a specific rant against commercials. And for this topic, I am going to use the upcoming box office movie ‘Zombieland” as an example. A movie where all of America is run down by zombies – and only a lone band of adventurers fight their way through and at the same time, have fun doing it.

I’ve seen the movie. Yes, ladies and gentlemen – I have seen this movie a week before it actually comes out. Did I watch it illegally? Did I get a leaked version? Am I so awesome that I can do anything in this world? Unfortunately, I am not that awesome.

I in fact did not get an illegal copy. But I got quite a legal one – in bits and pieces. I call it, ‘commercials’. I hate them, and yet I love them. But for the topic of this post, I absolutely detest them. I have seen so many commercials and scenes from the actual Zombieland film that I have pieced all of them together and I now claim that I have seen the whole movie.

Commercials have absolutely destroyed the movie for me! And they do it to all kinds of movies! The good parts are always broadcasted on television that the rest of the movie is only good to watch for the cast or the storyline. Unfortunately for Zombieland, it is a comedy film. Once the best jokes are out, there isn’t much left. And I am not going to watch this movie now.

Had the advertisements been different, I might still have watched the movie. Perhaps the ads are to be blamed for audiences not going out of their way to purchase a ticket for an upcoming movie. Piracy also causes damage, but there tons of other holes where the money is slipping.

Now I know that zombie enthusiasts will still go out and watch Zombieland, but I feel that there will be no enjoyment left in the movie. I agree that everyone knows this movie is coming out, but at the same time everyone knows what the movie is about to offer.

That sort of wraps up my rant. It wasn’t very good – but at least it was rant-ish. Again, sorry for being MIA. I will be for a bit longer – sorry for any inconvenience!

  1. October 20, 2009 at 9:25 AM

    Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

    • November 10, 2009 at 9:45 PM

      Yes, sure, I don’t mind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

