Home > Philosophy > Aesthetic of a Dream

Aesthetic of a Dream

It would be quite the understatement to call me the least active contributer to this blog; however I will forgo situational excuses and explain that I just purely could not for the life of me come up with any material that I deemed worthy of the blogosphere. However, I know my colleagues who post alongside me, on quite a more regular basis I may add, will accept a late blog post rather than the complete silence of my keyboard.

Right now though, I am embarking on a new quest; a quest of self discovery and peer relationship building. This could be simply summed up in the two words; “Frosh Week”. For instance, amidst all the events, all the embarrassing stunts, all the wild parties, if you really sit down and think about what you’ve been doing, you realize that you are building relationships amongst your peers, finding new people that you can really depend upon, breaking out of your shell in order to participate in everything that you will never have enough time to do during your school year, not to mention asserting your own independence, by holding your own in a new environment where you must adapt in order to be successful.

It was during my quest however, with the new friends that I’ve made; I was able to watch a movie that I believe will entirely impress a single message upon any viewer who watches it. The movie in question was “American Beauty”, although not the newest, or even the most eye-catching movie I’ve ever seen, there is a quality about it that will captivate you, I for one did not say a single word throughout the duration of the film. This isn’t a review, nor is it a summary of the plot, but the one thing that gave this movie such an amazing and utterly intense aura would have to be one thing. Truth.

I couldn’t help but notice that the main theme for each and every character, was to strive to achieve their vision of beauty in their own life. While we all know that our everyday life is a far cry from perfection, we never really latch onto the fact that we can still make the most of it, only the things we lack that compromise our vision of a beautiful life get any attention, which obscures any true meaning to the things we do. To put it simply, we need to find a way to keep our ideal life, from taking over our current life; because the things we lack from perfection, will consume how we live our lives, ultimately causing resent and bitterness.

I definitely think that “American Beauty” was one of the most intense movies that I have ever seen; one of the few that made me think, and clearly relate to the idea of chasing perfection.

As of starting this post, I have done nothing but state the first thing that comes to my head, in order to even begin to wrap my head around everything that “American Beauty” stands for, sadly however sleep beckons, and keeping a mistress waiting is quite the mistake to make.

  1. September 4, 2009 at 6:44 PM

    You seriously wrote this after watching that movie didn’t you?
    And you’re a liar. There ain’t no mistress except sleep itself!

  2. Adrian
    September 4, 2009 at 9:07 PM

    American Beauty almost without a doubt in the top three when it comes to one of my favorite actors in Kevin Spacey. Amazing movie.

  3. DanDan
    September 5, 2009 at 11:21 PM

    I liked that “finally wrote something” comment.
    Also, yeah, I DEFINITELY wrote this right after watching the movie.
    That experience like, transcended any description.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

