Home > Hi > Theme Switcharoo!

Theme Switcharoo!

Yaaaay. I changed the theme again! Sorry šŸ˜€

I’m a picky picky person and love change (if it’s good anyways). I changed the theme to “The Journalist v1.9” , quite an ironic name for the theme as I’m still waiting for my acceptance (or rejection, hopefully not so) from Ryerson (and even Carleton) for Journalism!

I’m hoping I get in and enough about me and my frustration waiting for that acceptance letter! The theme is a lot cleaner and the theme also represents the slow transition from spring to summer. As the sun is coming up, the days are longer, and it is much much brighter.

To more… Err, hum hum, awesomeness!

Cheers!

  1. Adrian
    April 24, 2009 at 10:37 PM

    I had this on my blog too coincidence I think SO. Ha, it’s an okay theme I like it because it looks a lot more cleaner. Hope you get accepted to Carleton the campus there is beautiful (got a tour of it last year)

    • April 24, 2009 at 10:54 PM

      I want to get into Ryerson though šŸ˜¦
      Stupid late responding universities, they’re totally ruining me and putting stress on me!

  2. May 2, 2009 at 8:56 AM

    Over 30 years ago I got early acceptance into the journalism program at Carleton but was disappointed to not get into the Fine Art program at Queens. My friend (her name is the same as the muse of epic poetry) didn’t get accepted at Ryerson but was accepted elsewhere. Both being picky and frugal (we had worked so hard to save for tuition) we decided to say to hell with academia and left that fall for an extended trip to Europe to experience art and culture for ourselves.

    Years later we attended other universities but I think the best education I ever received was from those travels.

    • May 2, 2009 at 8:06 PM

      Wow! That’s really exciting!
      I want to travel so badly, but alas, I don’t have the finances to do that , haha.
      But that’s why I want to get into Journalism so badly.
      Because if I can make it as a broadcaster, I can travel the world, free of cost, ’cause it’s my job! =)

  3. May 3, 2009 at 6:00 AM

    Have you read Anderson Cooper’s ‘Dispatches from the Edge?’ It explains the different route he took into the world of foreign broadcast journalism.

    Another recent good book is Tim Ferriss’ ‘Four Hour Workweek.’ He shows how he made changes in his life so that he could travel. His blog is at
    http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog/

    Another excellent blog to inspire you to reach your goals is Zen Habits at http://www.zenhabits.net

    • May 12, 2009 at 4:40 PM

      The same Cooper from CNN? And, I actually haven’t. Hopefully I can find it at the library =D
      Both of those websites look like something I should pay attention to, thanks!

      • May 13, 2009 at 8:11 AM

        Yes, that’s the one – from AC360. I really like his low-key, no-nonsense style. Just as a caveat, both books are written by guys who have had more than their fair share of ‘good luck’ in their lives. Cooper has had some suffering as well, which seems to add to his credibility.

        Probably the best book on the subject of finding success in work is ‘Outliers’ by Malcolm Gladwell. See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outliers_(book) He makes a pretty good argument for the 10,000 hour rule.

  4. May 19, 2009 at 5:32 PM

    His show isn’t bad. I like it better than most from news outlets. Normally they’re highly biased and just terrible.
    Wow, 10, 000 hours? That’s a looooong time. That’s 417 days (take one) of practicing without a single break.
    I could never find the time to do that <.<

    • May 19, 2009 at 8:31 PM

      It doesn’t sound unattainable if you think of it instead as 20 hours a week for 10 years.

      • May 26, 2009 at 9:36 PM

        10 years is a lot, haha.
        I’m very impatient!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

