Home > Poetry > Human

Human

Faced with rejection,
I think of it over and over again,

Even after telling myself to not give up,
It seems so hopeless,

My longing weakens,
My thirst to feel greatens,

Watching the snow fall slowly,
Listening to the thunder,

There is something I feel when I watch nature,
I cannot tell what, though,

Maybe it is the peace,
Possibly the sadness when snow falls,

Can I be human,
When I cannot share myself with other humans,

What am I,
Other than a loner,

Am I greedy,
To have what I have and still feel empty,

To want more,
Even though others out there have nothing,

The one thing I wanted,
After years of searching,

Does not wish to come to me,
I want what I can’t have,

My throat is uneasy,
My chest has no beat,

The dreams I had,
Were crushed before they were built,

I can imagine everything,
But this is quite a fake reality,

My life is unlike those of others,
Maybe that is why I am completely different,

I cannot be compared to others,
My thoughts,

The feelings I have,
Of the dreams I hold close to my heart,

Perhaps I can never be a human being,
But only be myself through all time,

Could this be what a human is,
To be different and have utter individualism…

  1. theafterlifeproject
    January 31, 2009 at 4:26 AM

    that was amazing.
    (:

    • February 1, 2009 at 12:54 AM

      Thanks brutha 😀

  2. January 31, 2009 at 5:29 AM

    What an excellent poem. Though you are a unique human being, you’ve been able to accurately express feelings that many, many others have experienced. We may be different, with our own special gifts and talents, but we all share in our suffering on this planet.

    I was especially intrigued by your question about nature. Watching and being surrounded by nature makes all humans more aware of their connection to the earth… the elements… trees… living creatures… other humans. Our problems also feel less stifling if we bring ourselves outside among living things to experience the grandeur of nature. It helps us get out of our heads and into our physical selves where we can enjoy the use of all our senses.

    Peace to you.

    • February 1, 2009 at 12:54 AM

      Thank you so much! At the time I was in a very contemplating mood, haha.
      I find that nature gives both peace and punishment. It’s amazing how nature works in it’s ways, and I think that as human beings, nature affects our emotions deeply.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

