Home > Hi > 2008 Olympics Closing Ceremony

2008 Olympics Closing Ceremony

I just very recently finished watching the closing ceremony of the Olympics in Beijing, China. Absolutely terrifically amazing. I missed the opening ceremony, but this I think makes up for it.

What I want to point out is that I see China in a completely different sight. The strong culture that China harbours is what every country should contain with diversity. Amidst all the bad reviews of China I have heard (especially from Right Wing Americans) is absolute crap (not that I didn’t know before). What China showed me today was pure joy, happiness, and pride. But I’m not the only one that has seen this, China has shown the whole world.

The beauty and splendor was fantastic and not of this world. Well, sorry about this but I forgot a lot of stuff I was going to write here. I was thinking about it when I was watching a commercial and an hour later, here, I like… Forgot heh.

But along the lines, everything said about China (almost everything) is baseless accusation. More than 500, 000 Chinese volunteers helped to make the Olympics what it is, and today I saw happiness and pure joy in every face, Chinese and non-Chinese. China deserved to host the Olympics and showed the world exactly that.

Now we shall watch to see the Olympic games once again in London, England (where I hope Canada does better!).

  1. August 24, 2008 at 11:16 PM

    I see these past Olympics as China’s first date with the world. And who wouldn’t put on the best face possible? I’m sure that some of the media accounts of the country are sensationalized, and the human rights situation may be improving, but the place is far from perfect.

    I’m more curious at what the country will look like in the coming weeks and months post Olympics.

  2. August 25, 2008 at 5:57 PM

    I’ve got to agree with you there. For example; I don’t see the Tibet situation get any better, but I think the Olympics have definitely allowed China to improve. I do expect in the future China’s improvement, though slow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

