Home > Philosophy > Music

Music

What is music?

We hear music everywhere we go and yet we call almost every sound the sound of music. But what really is “music”? How can we define it?

I believe music is that which causes emotion.

If music causes one to feel anger, hate, jealousy, that is music.

If music causes sadness, feeling, and fear, that is music.

If music causes happiness, goodwill, and well-being, that is music.

As long as music causes a change in mood, a change in emotion, then that is what I define as “music”.

You may see it differently, so I would like to know what your definition of music is!

  1. August 1, 2012 at 2:13 AM | #1

    Nice very post on music. I really like to watch musical show.
    thomas hermanns

  2. August 3, 2012 at 5:05 AM | #2

    Really like the Blog, sort of fits with my last Blog which is about how important music is for me in relation to literature.

    http://www.revolutionwriter1.wordpress.com

  3. August 21, 2012 at 3:00 PM | #3

    Music is therapy for the unheard questions and vague answers. If I ask you an uncomfortable question, or reveal my deepest pain no one listens all the time. But if I can capture those feelings to music everyone listens.

  4. September 3, 2012 at 6:55 AM | #4

    I really found your blog exciting. I am a great lover of music. I am always eager to find best music deals online to start up a good career in music business.

Comment pages
1 12 13 14 167
  1. October 21, 2010 at 10:25 AM | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

